Technicolor Stumble

caught in this merry-go-round
felt the sound but i stumbled
a shiver, a tear and a broken mirror
exploring the absence of all my fear

staccato steps and sad sex
a home built but the fire left
got too big for a picture frame
i’d change my name but i’m still the same

toes curled on the edge, it’s blameless
the monkey on my shoulder, shameless
stitches in my side, seamless
every sorry added means less
missing pieces, wrinkled creases
broken leases, left me speechless
hold your hand out and be a beggar
got nothing-left-but-a-sweater swagger
empty pockets but i swore i had her
watching clones question god, nothing sadder
my lego rib cage couldn’t take the pressure
of a manila envelope and legal letter
a dotted line, i blinked too fast
inhaling chemicals, bring the hazmat
stand at attention, each cough an intervention
lungs grow wings, a prolonged sensation
what feels like love is just insulation

let me fall through the sound
all around in technicolor
i hit zero long ago
tattooed maps tell me where to go

staccato steps and sad sex
a home built but the fire left
got too big for a picture frame
i’d change my name but i’m still the same

skydiving in caffeine and nicotine
injecting fresh air daily, it’s like morphine
but i heard ghosts in the hills today
nothing to do but cut my hair and pray
my life is a record but it gets no play
when spring comes then winter falls away
don’t look twice, once is enough
too many times and the going gets tough
the monster in my chest likes to play rough
it sounds premeditated but it’s off the cuff

caught in this sound
stumbled in technicolor
i shivered through zero long ago
tattooed my fear across my ego

i’m still the same

Leave a Reply

